Nintendo NX

Here is what I currently know about the NX prototype so far.

(Note: it’s unknown how the final product might change.)

  • In May, I said Nvidia was involved with the system. (Source)
  • The screen is around 6 inches (6.2 to be specific)
  • The portable screen has a 720p resolution.
  • Multi-touch touchscreen (Haven’t heard anything about a stylus.)
  • 32 GB of internal storage is on the NX dev kit.  (They may increase storage to 64GB for the final retail unit, but I doubt it.)
  • There is an SD Card port.
  • Dock Station has at least 2 USB ports on prototype.  Not sure about final product.
  • NX will support Unreal Engine 4 and Unity engine
  • NX is below Xbox One and PlayStation 4 in raw power.
  • Dev kits and prototypes are region free. I heard retail units will be region free too.
  • Nintendo still plans to support the 3DS with software through 2018.

Thickness of the device

  • Update: I  heard the prototype was around 14mm in thickness. Maybe a tiny bit more than that. Laura Kate Dale heard 25mm from her source. Which is different from what I’ve heard.
  • Update 2:  Second source said thickness of NX prototype is closer to the bottom half of the New Nintendo 3DS XL.

 

Over the weekend, I contacted the talented Laura Kate Dale (LetsPlayVideoGames) and asked her if we could compare our NX prototype information. We came to the realization that we had the same information bullet point by bullet point, but our sources were completely different.

My info claimed that there was some kind of mysterious “sharing” button on the controller. I asked Laura and she had the same mysterious button on the controller. Some sources called it a “Sharing” button. Other sources called it a “Social” button.

 

This is how my source described the “Share / Social” button back in late July.

Share 2

Side Note: There have been conflicting reports on where the right analogue stick is positioned.

Laura’s sources believe the right analogue stick will be below the face buttons.

My source #1 says the right analogue stick is above the face buttons.  My source #2 says the right analogue stick is below the face buttons.

Conflicting Reports

 

D-Pad

Two sources confirmed to me that the D-Pad was split (individual buttons) in the prototype.

Multiple sources confirmed to Laura that the D-Pad was split (individual buttons) in the prototype.